Sketchfab Forum

3D Artist Wanted! - Photorealistic Architecture Renders

feature-request

(Lawrence Green) #1

Hello all,

As a new member to this community, I've come here for guidance and information concerning an art project I've started. As a photographer, I've been following the progress of photorealistic 3D renders over the past couple of years and I've concluded that the software available to most artist has significantly improved render wise.

The reason I followed this progress is because my ideas have always been bigger than life and are financially impossible to achieve with traditional techniques, more specifically set design. Without further ado, I'd like to present to you fine artists the idea I have and would love feedback on how to tackle this project, what to expect and whom to approach.

The idea arose from a photoshoot I attended a couple of years ago. The photographer, Erwin Olaf, is a personal favourite and has made works that hint to old painters, such as Vermeer. The concept was simple, the assignment not so much: A painting, called "The last tribute to the counts of Egmond and Hoorn" by Louis Gallaits, was to be recreated as a photograph. Olaf had done such a job before and has succeeded in capturing the essence of the original paintings.

This inspired me to do similar work and sure enough I began looking for paintings that inspired me and aligned with my thinking and personal style. And since I am convinced that my techniques are fine-tuned, I didn't hold back on the scale of the works I've selected. So I've chosen the following work, "Los Romanos De La Decadencia" by Thomas Couture.