[Artist in Residence] - Pedal Harp

(Kbrom3d) #1

Hey guys! My name is Kyle Bromley and I've been an environment artist in the game industry for a bit over 5 years now. Over the next several weeks I'll be working with sketchfab to create an 18th century Pedal Harp. I'm always trying to challenge myself to create something that I haven't seen a lot of before so I think this'll work out quite well. (Google 3d pedal harp and you'll see what I mean)

Here is my main reference board I put together using PureRef (get this is you don't already have it!)

My plan of attack is to do the majority of the work in 3ds max and zbrush then finish it off in photoshop and substance painter. I'll then get it uploaded to sketchfab for everyone to check out.

As for materials my eyes are really drawn towards the black and gold look with some natural wood sprinkled in. Specifically in this reference here -

Here are links to my current sketchfab account and portfolio; I've only recently began to use sketchfab more and plan on uploading more of my personal projects in the coming weeks.

Sketchfab

Portfolio

Thanks everyone!, I'll be sure to share my progress here as I create this.

(Paulchambers3d) #2

(Paulchambers3d) #3

Welcome aboard Kyle! Can't wait to see the harp come to life.

(Nomadking) #4

Hi Kyle! I love the detail work on your Shield model - looking forward to seeing more of the same here! :slight_smile:

(Vrhuman) #5

Welcome Kyle! Very excited to see your process and of course the finished piece.

(Bart) #6

Very refreshing to see such a different project! I'll be following this with interest.

Welcome Kyle! I'm looking forward to seeing your work evolve!

(Kbrom3d) #8

So I am 3 days into it and I feeling pretty good about it so far.

I spent the first day blocking it out and after making probably 6 variations I think I found one that'll end up being pretty cool.