[Artist In Residence] Summertime GIFs

artist-in-residence

(Benvoldman) #1

Hey everyone,
My name is Ben! Sketchfab invited me to join the Artist-in-Residence program and I'm stoked to be here.

A little bit about me:
I'm an illustrator and animator living in NYC . You can find me on the internet here - Sketchfab, website, dribbble, behance, twitter, instagram. I work out of a shared studio with some of my friends in Bushwick, Brooklyn where I create artwork for various brands and publications. Some of my recent clients include Funny Or Die, MTV, and the Boston Globe.

GIFs: Summertime!
Lately I've been into making fun and colorful animated GIFs as morning warm ups. You can see some of them here and here. I'll usually work on these in the morning before diving into client work as I find it helps shake the cobwebs loose. For my time here at SketchFab I'll be working on a series under the theme of "Summertime!".

And here's the first one on the plate- "Iced Coffee & Popsicle on the beach!"

I made this lil' doodle in my sketchbook this morning of an iced coffee on the beach applying sun tan lotion to his popsicle honey. That's how these usually start out. I'm drinking iced coffee...how about I draw an iced coffee... genius!! Let's put googley eyes on it.... marvelous!... and so forth.

After that I take the thumbnail and refine it a bit and then bring it into photoshop to do a quick color study and that's where I'm at now. I'm a big fan of Adobe Kuler for finding color palettes. This is the first one i liked. I'm not totally sold on it yet but I'm gonna stick with it for now.

Next steps will be doing some initial blocking of the scene. I'm planning on posting all the models here as well as some GIFs of the process behind these.

More soon!

(Palexeev) #2

Awesome! Can't wait to see this in 3D :slight_smile:

(Paulchambers3d) #4

Welcome aboard Ben!!

Haha, this looks so cute! Will there be environmental elements to it too or mainly character based?