Sketchfab Forum

Austin Mini Mk2(WIP)

wip
model
3d

(Rory Scanlan) #1

Hey

I am creating an Austin Mini MK2 for uni as you can see :wink: , I will eventually make two version of this mesh, one with much detail for still shots and another version with many parts deleted for in game use.

I have been staring at this thing for quite some time now and would love some fresh input. The car is supposed to be a 'classical racing mini'.

I know its not a perfect replica but I am new to all this so any comments or tips on topology/softwares/tools or anything really would be greatly appreciated, I am open to all suggestions! :slight_smile:
I am about 70% toward the end of modelling this thing(I hope) and I will be moving onto UV mapping very soon! Any input on that would also be appricated :slight_smile:

So far I have only used Maya, I will keep this post updated as I create this thing
Here are some quick and dirty renders of what I currently have(Just MentalRay Materials Applied).

And here is the 3D Link! :blush:

(Rory Scanlan) #2

I wasn't completely happy with the topology, so I decided to do a topology pass using Maya's quad draw. Just finished the largest piece of the body :slight_smile: I'm gonna do the wings next and any other things I think are too dense.

(Shaderbytes) #3

my first car was a mini, although I had a clubman :wink:

Looking good so far! The headlight look a little too extruded although it might just be because they are not textured ..

Looking forward to more progress.

(Rory Scanlan) #4

I wish i had a real mini to reference would be much easier! :stuck_out_tongue:

Yeah i think your right about the headlights, I'm hoping to post some more fixes tonight I will add the lights to the list :slight_smile:

(Rory Scanlan) #5

So here is a list of updates, I hope they are improvements :stuck_out_tongue:

Resized Headlights, Remodeled Seat, Added Door well and seals, Reduced poly count on roll cage, added some door details and interior details.