Baking problems

substance
textures
3dsmax

(Igor Piwonski) #1

Hi, im new to substance painter. I have problem with baking textures, im always getting weird low poly look for some reason, could you please tell me how should LP - HP model be related? Maybe some questions will make it easier.

• Does HP model have to be a bit "bigger" than LP model? If so, how to achieve that on multi mesh model without ruining it.
    -Does high poly model have to have nice topology? Or i can go totally insane with adding details?
    -Should i chamfer edges on low poly model, or baked textures will do their job?
    -What is the proper naming convention for models?
    -Should i join all parts of model into one object, or leave them separated to diffrent objects with one element each?

Uploaded some screenshots of my meshes, and low poly mesh before and after bake.

(Mrrik) #2

Hi @IgorPiwonski, I'll try and answer your questions:

1. No your highpoly and lowpoly should be the same size. The reason for this is when you are going to bake your textures substance will make a cage around your model and will try and project your highpoly details onto the lowpoly mesh. If you would make your highpoly bigger then the lowpoly it would screw up your bake and wont give you the result you want.

2. The highpoly doesnt need a nice topology as long as you dont have any shading issues. If you see for example issues because of ngons and your mesh having weird black spots you should fix those areas to improve your bake.

3. chamfering edges isnt neccesary but more something you should consider on your own. Do I need this extra geometry here or could my normal fix this problem? Those are the questions you'll have to figure out yourself and the more you do these kind of things the easier it will get :slight_smile: