Beginner here, just finished my 4th 3D model! CC welcome!

upload

(Can Aviral) #1

I'm very excited to share, I started 3D modelling this week and I'm trying to challenge myself to learn new things & techniques with every project. I just finished and uploaded my 4th model, I'd like to share it with you!

I would greatly appreciate any comments & criticism you might have. I know that I have a LOT to learn, and I think the best way to learn is to discuss.

Thank you!

(Dark Minaz) #2

For your 4th model it looks great.
For the feedback part:
you have a lot of geometry that doesn't end in a logical way
https://pin.it/qyrtls53zw5sob here are some infos on how to make the geo flow a bit better :slight_smile: also there is a lot of parts that you could reduce by a lot :slight_smile:

the textures look like you did them via materials, so there is a lot to improve there in the future

But it looks how it should if you don't look to close at the details. R2 looks pretty good.

(Can Aviral) #3

Thanks a lot for the feedback.

I have a lot to learn about topology, and I'm having a hard time with the 'reduce' option on maya. I've tried it a few times, and almost every time I end up with weird edges and vertices that don't connect anywhere properly.

I almost always start with a cube and try to keep a clean layout, but whenever I try reducing, I have this problem. Also in this model I had a similar problem, and I ended up even 'smooth'ing some parts, which ruined the topology even more. I guess I have to learn by doing with time!

Yes I did the textures with materials in the sketchfab 3D settings. Honestly I'm scared to deal with UV maps before fixing the topology. So I think I should fix my workflow first, then dive into textures.

Once again thank you!

(Dark Minaz) #4

Since you work with maya, a good tip is to work with a 2d plane and the quad draw tool for things that are mostly flat :slight_smile:

^this one

Helps a lot with the "keeping everything where it should"