CARDBOARD: Setting full screen on browser?

vr
viewer

(Swami Mathtraveler) #1

So, cardboard is cool, but...

...it's all in the app. And, being very new, Sketchfab's implementation has "room for improvement", which SF fully acknowledges. Thx for your efforts. Anyhow...

Here are a couple things that will make the experience better. Now, some may already be possible, and I've simply missed because I'm new to this. That said...

All attempts in putting a browser in full screen mode have failed w/ SF:( Have tried Chrome, Safari, Dolphin, and 'Web Browser - For Full Screen' (by Ahmmed Shakil). FYI, I'm using iPhone 5. Only Dolphin, and 'Web Browser - ..." will actually "disappear" the UI, but unfortunately, the cardboard stereo goes away!:smile:

Also, in all the above browsers, using SF full screen button does NOT disappear the browser UI.

What am I missing? TIA...

(Mauricesvay) #3

Hi @swami_mathtraveler ,

unfortunately, browsers on iOS do not have the fullscreen capability. Trying a different browser doesn't really help, as they all use the Safari webview underneath. The only way to solve that would be to develop a native application I guess.

(Tojek Vfx) #4

Same experience here, I was never able to get full screen VR models to display on my iPhones also. Always remained a some browser UI.

(Mauricesvay) #5

@tojek_vfx we are aware of the issue. Unfortunately the fullscreen API isn't supported by iOS. Sometimes you can have a fullscreen viewer by changing the orientation from landscape to portrait to landscape. But that's pretty random.

(Swami Mathtraveler) #6

Thx, @mauricesvay. Too bad. That's the way API's go, sometimes:( Hopefully, that will change...

(Swami Mathtraveler) #7

@mauricesvay, you wrote: "browsers on iOS do not have the fullscreen capability".

Respectfully, this is not my experience, as noted in my original post: "...Dolphin, and 'Web Browser - ..." will actually 'disappear' the UI, but unfortunately, the cardboard stereo goes away".