Double bounding box and difficult object

(Paulodisino) #1

Hello there,

I am new to photogrammetry and I am having a hard time to make Photoscan Pro work with this flint I am trying to capture.
I have gone to some threads and found some information, but I am getting an annoying double bounding box and the model is just very poor.
I photographed without markers on a white background, with a Canon 6D 100mm macro but the program didn't recognize the camera's positioning, so I did some basic black markers around the stand, but it still didn't work, finally I got fed up and used my daugther's book as a big marker thinking it couldn't go wrong, buuuut it still sucks.
Here is the link to the photos:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/8dthcghci6blp8o/AAD1wpr3Ez9sDQYBpOTVvRVLa?dl=0
And this is so far the result:

I have tryed with other stands and markers, but the result was even worst. All the tutorials I found are pretty much the same, I don't know what I could possibly be doing wrong.

Thank you so much for any ideas

Browser:
Safari
Operating System:
Mac OS, El Captain, I7, 16GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 6770M 1024MB, 256SSD

(Nestor F. Marques) #2

Hey @paulodisino, here to help you with the bounding box issue!

That's just the stereoscopic view in photoscan. If you have anaglyph glasses (classic red and blue, you'll be able to view it in 3D, but in my opinion that's just annoying...

You can get back to normal by pressing the 9 key on your keyboard or in the upper menu View -> stereoscopic mode.

Regarding the model itself... I'll take a look at the photos and let you know if I see something odd!

(Nestor F. Marques) #3

Ok! Taking a look at the photos, they are ok but you could have taken more photos from other angles like high and low and not just the middle part, but in fact, the model came out just fine.