Drone recommendations?

(Abby Crawford) #1

I'm looking into getting a quadcopter for photogrammetry, but have no experience with them at all. Are there specific features that are better than others? What kind of camera resolution is best, and are shutter speeds and drone stability usually good enough to capture good quality, usable photographs? I'm at the beginning of my research, so any tips and recommendations would be greatly appreciated. smile

(Geodrone) #2

hi abbyec!

We use a Sony A5000 totally stock and we get fantastic results. The latests sony's are the best for this type of work (A5100, A6000) low weight, big sensor, high quality and intervallometer.

Shutter speed depend alot on the weather. 1/800 to 1/1000 and ISO 100 to 320.

smile

(Fae Drones) #3

Hello, i am an experienced drone pilot and i did many 3D reconstruction projects using drone, check my projects on sketchfab.
The best drone should carry a mirrorless camera, i use Sony A6000 with fixed focal lens, to minimize the distorsions and exclude the possibility of changing the focal length during the flight. I prefer 16 mm or 30 mm.
So 1Kg of payload (camera + gimball) should not overload your UAV platform, engines should work at about 50%to 60%.
Why?
Because you need at least 20% spare power for platform stabilisation, even when your battery is empty! Some times you fly on high grounds, above 1000m and the engines has less efficiency. Some times you get into downdrafts, or some times you have high winds.

That power request excludes almost all comercial drones.

Also an UAV who empties your battery in les than 20 minute, will destroy your battery in less than 50 flights. So chose drones who fly with 1Kg of payload for more than 20 minutes or else you'll have problems with your batteries heating and puff-ing.