Empower and Corrupted: A Night Elf Project

(Joe Tyas) #1

Hey all,

Was meaning to post this last night but I fell asleep! Sorry!

Introduction

My name's Joe, I'm a recent graduate in Games Art from England. I love all things stylised (what a loose term!) - It's what I do best in my opinion. I haven't had the chance to do as much of it as I would have liked whilst working on my degree.

Starting out

Since the contest was announced I worked on idea generation, not my strongest suite so it takes me a while to create ideas. Although I quickly fixated on the idea of taking existing Warcraft architecture - something strongly related to a race (night elf, humans, orcs etc) and then 'Legion-ifying' it.

The legion have decided to empower themselves with night elves sacred Moonwells. Invading the lands of Teldrassil, Moonglade and the likes.

Let's take some inspiration -

This is the most 'legion' place in the current expansion in my opinion. Using this area as my basis for 'legion-ifying' Teldrassil and the moonwells.

Initial Concepting

Not a strong point of mine - but here goes!

Here's the initial concept I'll be expanding from. The moonwell is a tough center, resisting the legions influence - but eventually it will fall.

What's next?

I want to get to 3D'ing as quick as possible. But I usually rush too quick! so I'm spending the rest of the day fleshing out this environment in photoshop and such.

Cheers!

Stay Tuned!

(Michael Calvert) #2

This looks great! Excited.

(Joe Tyas) #3

Initial Photoshop Concepting

For an initial sketch in photoshop, I wanted to make sure things work composition-ally. Although 3D Composition is a different beast entirely. I love symmetrical comps - thinking of work of Noah Bradley and such, as well as the work of the late Frank Frazetta (his famous triangle composition that he repeatedly used). I want to work to something similar.

In addition I need to think about the main colours that appear in Night elf, and legion structures.