[Ended] Sketchfab Texturing Challenge: Graffiti

This week we challenge you to use Renafox’s 3D scanned van as your graffiti canvas. Just download his model (we recommend using the original .fbx file) and texture it with your preferred tools and workflow, upload it to Sketchfab, and tag it #GraffitiChallenge.

Full rules and prize details on the blog:

1 Like

I was wondering something about this contest…can we use copy-written characters(anime, simpsons, etc) or does the content of the graffiti have to be wholly original. Just to be clear i am not asking if i can grab an image online and slap it on but can i draw my own original work that is using those characters?

Hi and thanks for the question.

In the context of this challenge, I think re-use of existing IP or in copyright characters, logos etc. would fall under “fair use”, so it should be OK.

Please bare in mind that I’m not a lawyer and can’t give proper legal advice, but Rich Stim, Attorney at law at Stanford University Library defines “fair use” as:

In its most general sense, a fair use is any copying of copyrighted material done for a limited and “transformative” purpose, such as to comment upon, criticize, or parody a copyrighted work. Such uses can be done without permission from the copyright owner. In other words, fair use is a defense against a claim of copyright infringement. If your use qualifies as a fair use, then it would not be considered an infringement.

So what is a “transformative” use? If this definition seems ambiguous or vague, be aware that millions of dollars in legal fees have been spent attempting to define what qualifies as a fair use. There are no hard-and-fast rules, only general guidelines and varied court decisions, because the judges and lawmakers who created the fair use exception did not want to limit its definition. Like free speech, they wanted it to have an expansive meaning that could be open to interpretation.