Fallout 4 style assets: Making Of

(Electrocactus) #1

Hello again! I'm back with a new project (just like promised)
After my successful Fallout 4 Radio project, I decided to do another one. This time, I have a funny story to go with it.
It was 2009, when I fist played Fallout 3 and I really loved the game and art style. At this point of my life, I was kind of a fuckup and did not know what I want to do for a living. 3D graphics was kinda in back of my mind, because of my brother, who already worked as 3d artist. Hes portfolio HERE. So, the small push, that playing Fallout 3 gave me, I decided to learn 3d. Around 2012 I kinda started to do +- decent looking models, with textures and so on.
So, obviously, I made some Fallout 3 fan art models lol :smiley:

Here they are: Retro Gas pump and simple jerrycan.

These two was one of my best models of 2012 and I kinda still like them lol.
Recently, Fallout 4 came out and I instantly had an idea, lets remake the gas pump and jerrycan scene and see, how much better I can do it and compare the 3d skills, that I had than and now. I think, in the end it will be rewarding, looking at two and see the difference.

As always, I don't want to show all of my cards, but I can post some sneak peaks.
Gaspump mesh WIP

Jerrycan WIP: Some substance painter bugs/imperfections that don't know how to fix...

Base sculpt and retopo WIP:

I'm really busy all the time, so the project can take some time, but I will post some pics here and later add short summary about workflow, just like Radio post: Here

(Bart) #2

Thanks @electrocactus! So you use Blender and Painter, correct? How's the workflow between the two of them?

(Electrocactus) #3

Yep, correct, Blender and Substance painter. All seems to be fine, however, sometimes normal angle is kinda strange and in substance painter it looks sketchy. It's blenders fault, the smooth faces tool is not that good. Also, you cannot delete mesh history in blender, but I don't know if it effects anything.