I have been trying to complete on Photogrammetry projects but keep getting stuck

I am an experienced photographer (old school, with films and chemicals) and am really keen to produce images using Meshroom and Blender, however the mysteries of the process are very challenging.
I cannot find how to reduce the file down to a reasonable size. I decimated the mesh in blender to a factor of 0.0001 and still have a file over 300mb.
I am grateful for any advice you can offer.
Tony.

Hmm… Just a wild guess here: how big is your texture size? Have you tried to optimize or rescale them?

Hello Warkarma,
thanks for your suggestion. I have not tried to alter anything from the meshroom image other than to trim it of the main subject. I assumed that the decimate process in Blender would reduce the texture and material proportionately.
I will look into it, also, maybe how to get less density from the meshroom image.
Thank you.

1 Like

Hi @oldnslo, have you tried simplifying the mesh in Meshroom itself before export as shown in this tutorial?

Can you share a link your model? or a some screenshots of the files?

Hello Nebulousflynn,
I tried yesterday, I reduced by far to much and did not get a full reproduction of the image. I went back to it today after looking in the mesh node at how many points it used I reduced them down to a third of the original. After cutting away all the surplus background I have a smaller image to work with.
Thanks for your help.
oldnslo.

2 Likes

hi @oldnslo