I need your advices to build successful models with photogrammetry software. Tried Context Capture Master, Agisoft Photoscan, Zephyr and others

(Kemaleksen) #1

I’m a 3D animator and photographer. As photogrammetry covers them both I have been interested with photogrammetry software for a long time. I once had a gallery at hypr3d.com, used 123Dcatch, some software where you had to put your subject on a funny callibration paper, where you only had to shoot two photos and still have that Scann3D on my phone.

But the software that I tried in last years such as Zephyr, Autodesk Recap360, Remake and especially Agisoft Photoscan and Context Capture Master exceeded the quality of the previous software that I worked with. But still I don’t think my results are good enough to use for commercial purposes. I would be glad if you have a look at my sketchfab gallery: https://sketchfab.com/Kemaleksen/models

Photogrammetry software that I have seen have a simple workflow compared to my usual 3D modeling and animation software, but I wonder if I’m missing some little steps at the workflow or during preparation of photos. I usually use about 20-30 photos or 100-200 or sometimes several hundreds videoframes at photogrammetry software, don’t change focal length, but I use auto exposure, scale down images to about 1000 pixels at long side to avoid to wait forever.

Agisoft Photoscan doesn’t like my 17mm wide angle images and builds pyramids from photos of regular buildings that I shoot from below, so I have to crop my photos by 10% for it.

Models of Zephyr are usually not as good as of Photoscan (side by side tests at Sketchfab prooved that too) but at least Zephyr can handle wide angle photos.