I'm new to baking, and wanted some pointers?

substance

(Thedonquixotic) #1

I'm new to baking. Well I'm new to 3D in general. So far I've just been making stuff with Blender, Oculus Medium and Fusion 360.

If I wanted to do some subsurface scattering in Substance Painter or Marmoset Toolbag, would I bake it out to a diffuse texture map in order to display it on Sketchfab? Is that what people mean when they talk about baking textures etc?

(Mathea) #2

Hi!

When people say baking they can refer to different types of baking but usually refer to normal map baking. Example; your creating a game asset, but using Zbrush to create the model. The model would have way too many polygons to be used in games. So, the artists creates a low poly version (often in 'normal' 3D software like Maya), creates a decent UV map and then 'bakes' the high-poly onto the low poly. This process creates a normal map that makes it seem as if the low poly model has all the high poly details, because the normals on the low poly are 'told' by the normal map to make the surface react to the light as the high poly would. You can also 'bake' ambient occlusion maps for example, in this case the software you're using to bake the map (like Xnormal of Substance Painter) will calculate where the light would reach less (corners and folds) and create a texture map with dark areas in the places the light doesn't reach as well to give these corners and folds extra definition and depth. There are several other types of maps you can bake each with their own purpose. So baking is when the computer has to do a seperate calculation to create a texture that creates a certain effect.