Interested in drone photogrammetry. Any advice?

(Willshaf18) #1

I'm entirely new to any sort of photogrammetry or 3D imaging, and I wanted to know where to begin. My particular interest is in the photogrammetry of residences with a drone for the purpose of creating a model that the public can easily access, but I have only a very basic idea of how to start doing such a thing. (I don't totally know if this is the best place to ask, either)

So, my main questions are these:
* What are the best cameras and drones for such an undertaking?
* What is the best software for creating the 3D models from drone data/images?
* Any tips for a newbie (with respect to photogrammetry, piloting a drone, and/or both)?

Good places to look for tips or information are also appreciated!

(Nebulousflynn) #2

Hey @willshaf18,

Afraid I've got no experience with drones but regarding software (and depending on your budget and OS) you should check out:

• RealityCapture (WIN, demo available, from € 99 p/month)
  • PhotoScan (WIN/MAC, demo available, from $179)
  • ReMake (WIN, cloud based processing, limited free version or from $30 p/month)
  • 3DF Zephyr (WIN, limited free version or from $149)

The basics of photogrammetry are (and I'm simplifying here) take a bunch of photos (50 - a few hundred) of your subject from many differeent angles, then feed these into software and follow the steps to process into full 3D.

There are a few useful tutorials and how to articles to get you started on the Sketchfab blog too:

Hopefully another user will jump with advice about drones / cameras :slight_smile:

(Willshaf18) #3