Market Research: 3D Scanning for Musea

(Calvin Nz) #1

Hi everyone.

I've been scanning for the past 2 years and created many scans.

I now have a museum who is interested in my services to catalogue some of their artifacts but have no idea how to charge and how much i should charge

I would love to have some advice on how you charge your customers.

Kind Regards

Calvin

(Bart) #2

Hi Calvin! I've moved your message to the 3D scanning forum and made the topic a bit more descriptive.

@nebulousflynn can you give Calvin some advise?

(Nebulousflynn) #3

Hi @CalvinNZ,

Speaking as a freelancer of many years before joining Sketchfab my main advice would be to go in high - if budgets don't stretch you can always come down. I'm not suggesting anything excessive just to value your skills :slight_smile:

Other things to consider are whether the job(s) can be charged at a day rate or fixed for X number of objects.

Also do you expect to hand over raw scans or will there be any post production?

Previous to Sketchfab, I've charge anything from £330 a day to £2000 for 10 objects for photogrammetry scans that were destined for public viewing (i.e. not academic research).

(Calvin Nz) #4

Thanks for your advise. How do you normally propose it to your clients. Do you happen a default proposal doc u use?

(Bart) #5

When I freelanced as a web developer, I always used a high hourly rate, but I would give an 'introduction discount' to some clients. This allowed me to increase the price afterwards without discussion.

Never start with a 'regular' low fee - you'll never be able to increase it again afterwards. Also, offering yourself at too low a price makes some clients doubt your quality. If you're expensive, you must be good, right? :slight_smile:

(Nebulousflynn) #6

Nothing on hand to share I'm afraid.

As a start I'd suggest including:
- who you are
- what you do
- some examples of work / links to website etc.