Material colors aren't displaying from Blender obj and mtl files

blender
upload
3d

(Rickprokosch) #1

I have a model

that isn't showing the materials color properly on my model, everything is just grey. It zipped the .mtl file with .obj from blender's export. I see in the materials tab that it has the names of my materials but it didn't bring the colors across... any ideas?

I just used materials to color the model, not textures. I'm using cycles as well. I found the tutorial that tells you how to upload using the sketfab addon but that still resulted in none of my colors coming across.

Thanks for any info, let me know what other info I can provide.

Weird, I see material definitions in the MTL and they appear to be referenced correctly in the OBJ, but even when I open the file in other software, there's no materials.

Could you please send me the original blend file?

(Rickprokosch) #3

Sure thing. I admit that I'm still a noob when it comes to blender so it could totally be me and how I modelled the thing... I used the export feature in blender and zipped the .mtl and .obj files.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4208009/Raptor.blend should let you download the blend file.

Thanks! I think it might be related to the Cycles materials. @shaderbytes do you mind having a look?

(Shaderbytes) #5

I had a look , cant say why its not working. They are simple diffuse materials and the faces are assigned to the different materials , I did two tests one just uploading the scene as is and then another with modifiers applied .. both dont import the diffuse colors. ( using the sketchfab exporter ) .. maybe a regression bug on your end?

(Rickprokosch) #6

@shaderbytes @james thanks for checking this out. So maybe it isn't me after all... I also tried with blender 2.76 and 2.77.

Maybe I should try a middle program that I can import my blend file into and then export the obj and mtl that way?

Hmm, @waleguene maybe you have an idea?

(Waleguene) #8

Hi @rickprokosch,