My Clothes Challenge experience

Hi. My name is Nik and I am fairly new to the photogrammetry and 3D in general.

I want to share my experience and excitement from the latest 3D scanning challenge.

This year I am spending a lot of time at my parent’s country house.
I’ve always dreamt of making photos of my grandfather’s sailor figurines collection. Still, the whole idea of photos or even 360 photos was not as exciting to me. I’ve heard of photogrammetry and decided to give it a try.

I’ve got a used Canon 2000d and started to scan. Now I have more than 60 models scanned already: Sailor figurines - A 3D model collection by Nik (@nikska) - Sketchfab

I did not know about photogrammetry challenges but wondered why all those people upload bread and sneakers. I’ve recently discovered Forums here and was excited by the idea of scanning a piece of clothes. This sounded like a proper challenge, and I was a bit bored with scanning figurines already.

As I try to spend more time with the family, the projects I do are now more family-focused. I’ve asked my mother whether there are any valuable clothes items in the house, and out of a couple of weird or huge ones I chose the dress she used to wear when she was 1-2 years old.

Here’s the setup I ended up using:

• Canon 2000d connected to the laptop. EOS utility uploads images to the home server, where I may further work on them with a workstation
  • Canon 60mm macro lens
  • Syrp Genie Mini II as a turntable
  • 2 cheapest studio lights with softboxes
  • A stand and mannequin made of everything I could find in a workshop

First, I made a stand out of a wood plank and a rod, which I then connected a mannequin base made of styrofoam:

Syrp’s table has some handy holes drilled in it that I used to secure the base of the stand with screws to.

I also had some pieces of black fabric secured to a couple of photography stands and a wooden rod with clamps. Just like a real studio!