My Sketchfab story and what I expect from sketchfab

(Docjana) #1

Hello everyone, I have recently started using sketchfab, about a month ago... Now, I am using sketchfab alot, so just thought I'd drop by, say hello to you guys....

I have been in the 3d animation industry since about 5 years, I never showed much interest in checking out sketchfab before, especially since the browsers back then were not good enough to handle 3d... But recently with mobile browsers getting almost equally powerful as the desktop browsers, lot of interest is being directed towards VR and WebGL....

Now, when I understood that 3d in browsers has some potential, I started learning Three.js and I was pretty much satisfied with it, especially with the flexibility it provides... I even made a small project with three.js.... It took me around a week to code this basic web app, but then again, it was my first project.

After a few days, I started using sketchfab... The thing that took me a week to make can be done by anyone with practically no knowledge in coding in just 5 minutes with sketchfab... That was cool!

Now, I am not saying that three.js is not great, it has one big advantage over Sketchfab, that is it is pretty much open ended and you can code whatever you want... however the biggest problem is that there is no good gui solution for using three.js...

Once I started using Sketchfab, first I thought it was great, and after using this site for a month, I am very much satisfied with the service I am being provided... The GUI is awesome and the renders come out pretty good... However I have a tiny list of things, I'd like to happen in Sketchfab, which if possible would make Sketchfab wayyy cooler than it is now. So, here is the list:

• Annotations
    • I really love the way the camera goes and shows what you set, but I am still waiting to add annotations to animated objects... That would be so cool to have this feature.