Newbie with dumb (?) questions

(Gwstexas) #1

Good morning. My name is Gary and I operate GWS CUSTOM DECALS. I am a total newbie, so please bear with me. I make custom decals for scale models. My interest is in sizing decals for particular projects. Right now, I can only use 2D templates. It would be very helpful to be able place a 3D image on my computer screen and use it as a sort of live-action template. I would want to overlay decal designs on the 3D model. The recently uploaded McClaren Honda Indy race car is a perfect example. Is there a way to place this image on my monitor or create a live copy of it for this use? Perhaps to import the image into a drawing program like Adobe Illustrator? Is there software that would do this? I should say that I have no 3D design experience and I have no 3D design software, except what is included in Adobe Illustrator.
Thanks for putting up with these (dumb) questions.
Best,
Gary

(Dark Minaz) #2

Just to get this right

You want to add a decal (little logo stuff) on a 3d object?
or just a decal on a screenshot of a 3d object? (so it won't be 3d anymore)

For the first, you need download permissions (and permission to use them professionally, since you are selling something) and a 3d program like blender (free) to add your decals as planes to the object
So for example like this

For the 2nd you need permission again to use their 3d model for your work, make a screenshot and place the decal in photoshop or illustrator.

Hope i got your question right :wink:

(Gwstexas) #3