Sketchfab Forum

Photogrammetry for a Tiny World

(Tinyruin) #1

Hello everybody! We created a HTC Vive game for university, where you are a tiny human on top of a forest treestump :evergreen_tree::herb:

As we needed to document our process anyway, I thought I'd post my devlogs here as well, documenting my journey from absolute beginner to advanced photogrammetry user. I try to share my process and learnings on my way. Hope you'll find some of it useful :blush:

(Tinyruin) #2

This was my first devlog when I started the project - it looks at what photogrammetry is and shows my first learnings with it. May be interesting for total beginners.

I spent the time since the project kick-off by gathering as much information as I can about photogrammetry - reading articles, watching talks, as well as doing experiments.

Here is what my first scan looked like (interactive 3D view):

And here is what I'm at now:

1. Basic Idea

“Photogrammetry is the art and science of using overlapping photographs to reconstruct three dimensional scenes or objects”

Photoscanning is often used in museums to digitalize collections or by archaeologists to digitalize excavation sites. In games it's used to scan whole environment and props (e.g. Starwars Battlefront) or even humans (e.g. the new Metal Gear Solid).

We chose this technique because it creates a very "photoreal" effect. Combined with our idea of seeing the world trough the eyes as tiny human - and with the sense of scale/physical space VR gives you - , we hope to achieve a fascinating effect.

Lukas and I also have experience in photography, so we both can bring that into the process.

2. My process

The first step always is to create photos of the object or environment I want to digitize from all sides that are useful for the game (i.e. you don't need to make a 360° scan of a rock cliff). Here is a shitty photo shot with my ancient phone: