Procedural Textures?

(Nephthys) #1

Hello!

Is it possible to get blender's procedural textures to display in sketchfab? I am very new to modeling (only started about a week ago!), so I am not sure if I am doing something incorrectly or if there is no support for this type of texturing. I've spent the past few hours googling and seaerching, and have only learned that I don't know enough to figure out what I need to do. I've found that looking at my models in sketchfab makes it easier for me to see where I have made mistakes, so I would like to figure this out, and would appreciate any thoughts/insights/instructions/etc!

Here is my screenshot rendering from inside blender:

ANd here is what happens when I upload to sketchfab:

As you can see, they are very different. The procedure textures don't seem to be applying in sketchfab. I think?

Thank you. :slight_smile:

(Lord00120) #2

Yes you can :slight_smile: Procedural textures are basically textures generated by different math algorythms, which is great because you can change a lot of settings around and easily get different patterns. When you export your model for a site like sketchfab or a game or for other 3D applications, the procedural texture will not transfer. You need to "bake" a diffuse texture which you then save as an image and upload as the texture on sketchfab :slight_smile: You can look up "blender bake procedural texture" yourself or i can give you some pointers :wink:

(Nephthys) #3

Oh, wow, thank you very much for such a quick reply!

I would appreciate any pointers you are willing to give. I can count how long I have been doing this using a scale of days, so when I try googling things I get lost in trying to sort out tutorials from varying time periods and versions of blender.

(Lord00120) #4

First off, have you UV unwrapped your model?

(Nephthys) #5