Question on copyrights

Hi All,

I am a 3d scanning professional and have done some work for a museum. As the work was for schientific purposes I did it for a lower price than my normal work. Now the museum is looking to sell a 3d print of my model to a different museum. As far as I am concerned the model still is mine (copyright) and the museum has now turned into a commercial party. I have talked to them about this and they agree that I should receive a ‘decent’ payment for this. But that leads to the next question what is a reasonable price.
The original price was around a tenth of the actual commercial value of the model…it was mostly charity

Has anyone here had something like this happen before and how did you solve it?
And what do you think, what would be reasonable?

For your info this is the model, the original model is around 1Tb and around 2 months worth of work…

Hey @4visualization - that’s an really nice scan!

As far as I am concerned the model still is mine (copyright) and the museum has now turned into a commercial party.

What were the terms of your contract for creating the scan? Did it include a clause about who owns the output data?

Has anyone here had something like this happen before and how did you solve it?

Not this exact scenario but generally if the parameters of the conversation are a bit undefined it will mostly depend on the person you are speaking with at the museum and how you argue your case. Hopefully someone else can chip in some experience here.

And what do you think, what would be reasonable?

The original price was around a tenth of the actual commercial value of the model…it was mostly charity

It sounds like this has changed from a charity project to a commercial project. Charging full price would not be unfair but what the museum agrees to will actually be linked to their budgets and funding … as well as how ‘charitable’ you are feeling :slight_smile: