Sketchfab Forum

Review and criticism for models made by a newbie

(The Timeburner) #1

Greetings!

I am new to 3d modelling and I am self educated through tutorials for a year now.I would like to ask for anyone to review my models. Tell me what you think of it,textures and maps aside. Just the models themselves.

Give me advice how I can learn and be better at this.

Zeal & Fury!

(Shaderbytes) #2

Hi Timeburner

I had a look at Eldar Witchblade and sentinel. Proportions are good in general and the geometry is nice and clean so all good there. You could have perhaps beveled a few edges on the sentinel , they are all hard edges currently. I did see you used bevel on the sword so I know you know about it.

You really should work on finishing a model texture wise , it will draw way more attention. People generally wont even click on a model thumbnail when they see its not textured. I mean you have 6 models uploaded - all of them not textured.

hth

(Dark Minaz) #3

Hi Timeburner

I quite like your witchblade and your blackbird and the dreadnought, on the first you did use a bit to many polys on the round orbs, 1 smooth less would probably still look mostly the same.

Overall your modeling seems fine, some areas have a slightly to high poly count but overall they look great. Quite like the fact that most of your topology is kept in nice quads.

I would give the blade a nice texture (and if you don't want to do it yourself you can send it to me and i would do it, currently trying to learn more about textures anyway, so a model that isn't mine would help it). Since that would give it some more views.

(The Timeburner) #4

Greetings!

Thank you very much for replying.