Sketchfab Forum

Sketchfab transparency from PNG fails

(Bertil) #1

Transparency seems to be a hairy topic, and I have used a lot of time to come to grips with it, trying quite a few experiments in the excellent Sketchfab factory. Here is my last attempt.

The model is one mesh.
It has an albedo/diffuse texture map and a png greyscale (stripes) map for the transparency slot.

However the transparency map seems to have no influence on transparency.
The transparency slider gives me even transparency on the whole object with or without the png map. If I use the same png in the emission slot, the greyscale has effect though.

Diffuse map:

Transparency map:

I'm certainly missing something very basic here, that I could'n extract from otherwise really good tutorials (I thought there would be simpler solutions than the Coca Cola example).

I'd be happy to get some basic advice, as I'm new to this stuff.
Thanks in advance!

(Shaderbytes) #2

Im sure if you save the transparency map as a jpg and use that sketchfab will interpret the rbg values as alpha for you. I think with png files it will read the value from the alpha channel of the image and not the rgb channels.

(Stephomi) #3

What shaderbytes said. If you upload a PNG you can change the texture format from ALPHA to LUMINANCE in the editor.

(Bertil) #4

Thanks guys!
I'll try that. I thought that Sketchfab converted everything to PNG, and so...
I'll be back on this matter.

(Bertil) #5

Well, that worked, sort of.

Alpha or luminance didn't make any difference, but at least I got different transparencies.
Nearest, bilinear and Trilinear has no effect.
Making the jpg a truly greyscale instead of an RGB greyscale made transparency steps clearer.
I also discovered that exporting the greyscale material from Sculptris rendered one of the grey levels dithered, and fixing this in PaintShop for an even grey, made it better as well.

Thanks again for your input!