Sketchfab Forum

Small handpainted wizard room

3d

(Curlscurly) #1

Hey there! It's my first time posting on the sketchfab forum, so I hope it goes well! :smiley: A bti about myself: I'm a 3D Artist, who is still learning through my own projects. I've started using Blender about 2 years ago. I've been mainly focussing on Lowpoly models with various materials. Since last year, I've been learning more about handpainted textures. It's so much fun to do! After I made small scenes with handpainted objects, I've decided to start a bigger project. In this project, I am creating a wizardy/whimiscal room set up as a particular scene. This scene shows how the entrance of the room turned into a portal to another dimension!
Since I am about to apply for Game Arts at university very soon, I want to get this project finished soon as well. If i will have the time, I will add a Wizard mouse who lives in this small room as well (Which would be my first character I fully have to rig etc.)
But for now, I am focussing on the room!

So this is my progress so far. I will post a couple of progress shots and the stage I am at atm.
I am planning on uploading my finished piece on sketchfab!
I would be very happy if anyone could give me critique/opinions about my work or if you'd like to see what my room will look like soon, you are more than welcome to say hi!

(Tinyruin) #2

Oh hey! Yes please come to the Cologne Game Lab :smiley:
Maybe it would be a good idea to also post your WIP as sketchfab model, so people can take a closer look at it for feedback.
Looks cool, very atmospheric! The props already give a sense of lived-in-ness to the level.
I'm really curious how you'll light the level.
Hm, a minor point of criticism maybe. The drawing on the back of the wall looks from the screenshots like it's breaking with the style/level of detail of the rest of the world. Maybe you could also paint it digitally in the same manner than the rest of the assets.

(Curlscurly) #3