Swordtember 2022: a Post-Mortem Thread

Brace yourselves, it’s gonna be a long read.

Hello everyone, I am an indie game artist and developer focused on doing 3D lowpoly stuff. I’m not very active on the forum, except when it’s about sharing my 3December entries, but after completing the latest art challenge I decided to write this long article and share my thought process, ideas and workflow for Swordtember. After participating last year, I wanted to go for a second round, but this time, I decided to work on two different prompt lists instead of one.

My tools of choice were my loyal companion Blender, and the Sketchfab viewer. Like last year’s entries, I used a combination of basic materials and gradient textures for my swords.

What is Swordtember?

Swordtember is an annual art challenge that - as the name suggests - is focused on swords and it’s held every September. During the month, artists can draw or model a sword by following a daily prompt, just like Inktober or Sketchfab’s 3December. There isn’t an official prompt list, but different lists proposed by artists on social media platforms. This year, I followed the lists shared by Tim Kaminski (a.k.a. randomspirits) and Suzanne Helmigh.

Why two prompt lists?

There are a few reasons for this choice.

• Both lists had interesting prompts that were worth exploring for some whacky or funny designs, and I didn’t want to skip between lists.
  • This one is something more personal. Around the second half of spring, I was struck by a serious creative slump, due to some failed art tests that greatly impacted my confidence, with the imposter’s syndrome creeping up. After not doing any relevant art stuff for the rest of summer (which I think is terrible for an artist), I saw Swordtember as a chance to reignite my creative spark. So, taking on two lists as the same time was a way to challenge my creativity, but also a sort of self-punishment for being inactive for so long.

Why using Sketchfab as part of the challenge?