Sketchfab Forum

Tranparency and upload issues

(Afnopere) #1

Hello everyone, I'm very new to sketchfab and 3D so maybe I just do something wrong without knowing it but still I need some guidance.

I wanted to upload a plane model the first version was .fbx and was supposed to have transparent windows. Every time I try to upload it I get an unknown error (I checked the size of the file, it's only 373 ko and it's a low poly model).

I tried with an .obj, it works after an undecent amount of time of upload (but that might be a slow connection from my place so I won't argue too much about that) however even if I set a tranparent map to set the transparency of the windows, it doesn't work properly

I've already tried to change the value slider but it makes the whole object tranparent, and I've also tried to invert, to use the other mode and to invert by hand the white and black but nothing seems to have an effect.

If you need further explanations to better understand the problem just ask (I'm not very good when it comes to explain things)

(Draconius) #2

I've had this issue before. I never did find a solution, but workedaround by using sketchfab's exporter to upload directly from Substance Painter. If a sketchfab exporter is available for your native texturing program, I'd look into exporting from there.

(Shaderbytes) #3

check the texture import format in sketchfab. Since you mention you are using a grayscale image for transparency and not actual transparent pixels then you need to check and make sure the import format in sketch editor is set to luminance and not transparency.

(Afnopere) #4

Indeed it was not on luminance, I set it to luminance and I have transparency