Trigger Transparency through annotations

(Kobar) #1

Hello there,

I am not a big coder and I want to ask if you can give me a specific line whcih I should enter when I want to trigger the opacity / transparency.
I’ve seen some vague threads with “setmaterial” but I am a bit confused.
Can someone please give me a real code line? That would be awesome :slight_smile:

Let’s say I’ve got material names like “bread”, “butter”, “honey”.

Annotation 1 shall make “bread” transparent and the other two materials opaque.

Do I type into the Comment Section of the Annotations something like that?

api.setmaterial (bread, opacity (0));
api.setmaterial (butter, opacity (1));
api.setmaterial (honey, opacity (1));

And when I have the right code, do I really type it into the Comment Section or shall I add this somehow to the homepage when I embed it there … ?

Thanks for your answers in advance. I am a bit desparate.

(Shaderbytes) #2

you cant use the viewer api on the sketchfab domain, i dont know where you got the idea of typing javascript into the annotation comment but obviously you found out that wont work., or even where you got that syntax from? The api function signatures are documented here and can be viewed with ease.

So on an external embed you need to set up the api , listen for annotation changes and set material channel factors and update the materials.

I have a utility which makes using the api a lot easier , but still some coding skill is required , this is not achieved by one line of code. Based on your example above I cant see you coming right on your own very quickly.

Anyway here is the link to my utility :

it has working codepen examples for most things.

here is the link to the actual viewer api :

good luck

(Kobar) #3

Thank you for your answer! As a first try I wanted to load my model with a 50% opacity but sadly it doesn’t work right away :frowning: