Sketchfab Forum

Viewer API Swapping materials

viewer-api
materials

(Revolution3d) #1

Hey guys,

I'm new to the Viewer API and I have a simple question:

Is it possible to change an object's material to another material that is in the scene?

There seem to be methods in the API that allow you to access a list of materials and update their parameters or textures. There are also methods to access the scene graph and individual nodes in the scene. What I want to do is change the material that a particular node is using to a different material from the list.

Thanks in advance,
Adrian

Hey Adrian,

I didn't try it yet, but you could use getMaterialList to list all the materials in the scene, swap the stateSetIDs and update it. Something like:

api.getMaterialList( function( err, materials ) {

var materialToUpdate = materials[0];
    var materialToCopy = materials[1];

materialToCopy.stateSetID = materialToUpdate.stateSetID;

api.setMaterial( materialToCopy, function() {
        console.log( 'Material updated' );
    } );

} );

(Revolution3d) #3

Thanks James, That worked perfectly.

Before I go too far down this track, I'm interested to know if there is a more elegant solution for what I am trying to achieve.

I am uploading a model (in this case a house) and I would like to use the viewer API to let users swap out materials e.g. change bricks to wood planks etc. My current plan is to embed all the necessary materials into the 3D file by just having a cube for each material and simply hide these cubes so the user can't see them. Then at runtime, using the code you've provided, I can fetch the material I need and swap it out as required.

It seems like a cleaner solution might be to create my own materials at runtime, rather than fetch ones already in the scene... is this possible?

You can update materials and even add textures on the fly. Here are the examples from the official docs:

https://sketchfab.com/developers/viewer/functions#api-setMaterial