[WIP] Beast Bot Character

maya
3d

(Lorenzoderijcke) #1

Hi My name is Lorenzo de Rijcke, and I'm a junior 3D artist.
Sketchfab
after my last project https://forum.sketchfab.com/t/finished-azazels-tower/7404/34
I wanted to start a new one.

This will be a new Topic covering the WiP of my Beast bot character project.
I'm doing this project to learn more about character modelling workflow and methods. I learned the basics during my education but now I want to expand my knowledge.

The Project: Beast Bot

I want to create a 3D character model based on the following sketch that I made

this is a first version of the concept, just a rough idea of what direction that i'm aiming for

I made a pinterest board with reference which you can see here. I looked at old diving suits and space suits, as well as sci-fi space suits.

The Story:
for now this concept is based on the story of Beaty and the beast, The beast (or in the case the Bot) lives a solitary life, exiled from the world, and forgotten in time.

Until he met a little girl, who saved him and learned him how to play nice with other people again.

I will keep this post updated on my progress and as always feedback, comments and suggestions are welcome.

Cheers :smile:

(Elbriga) #2

This is looking good :smile: I love how you think of a storyline for the character, I bet that'll turn out great :smile: can't wait to see what follows!

(Lorenzoderijcke) #3

Hi all here is a first update.

started modelling the body shape.

here it is :smile:

Beast Bot WIP 1 by TonedCube on Sketchfab

First version of the body shape.
I am a bit rusty with modelling of a body so any feedback is welcome.

(Lorenzoderijcke) #4

Hi all,

made some progress on the modelling of the Beast Bot.
modeled his head, and started blocking out his arm.

here you go:

and also re-uploaded the model to sketchfab.