[WIP] Creating the Lord of Corruption

(Zetheros) #1

Hey guys! I'm new to these forums, but I've been using sketchfab for some time now.

My name is Sheng Zhong, and I'm an aspiring character artist. Competition is quite tough, so I've been spending a lot of time on this one portfolio piece. Here's what I've gotten done so far:

Xathanoc's Head Lowpoly Ver.02 by zetheros on Sketchfab

Xathanoc Arm Preview by zetheros on Sketchfab

These pieces are part of a full character I plan to implement in UE4, fully animated, cloth simulated, and voiced :smile:

I'll be done with the torso pretty soon, and then move onto refining and detailing the wings, tail, and legs.

I mostly work in zbrush (dynamesh and polypaint), modo (UV mapping and animation), and photoshop (final touch-ups, concept work, making textures/tools).

(Krzysztof Zwolinski) #2

Beyond the assertion that this is Low Poly :wink: model looks great. I always love Artisan contests.

(Stephomi) #3

Really a big fan of the design, the zbrush shot is gorgeous!

You don't use any PBR tools for texturing (substance/3dcoat/quixel) ?
Just thinking that the integration into sketchfab or UE4 won't match the zbrush quality, but still awesome anyway :smile:.

(Zetheros) #4

Thanks @Stephomi!

I'm really eager to start using substance designer, and I'll probably use it to polish up and enhance areas once the entire character is UV mapped. 3dcoat is really useful, but since I'm working from highpoly -> lowpoly, zbrush's polypaint works just as well for painting directly on the model.

I haven't had the opportunity to use quixel, but I'll look into high-quality rendering software once the character is finalized, so I can make some snazzy eye-candy renders.

(Zetheros) #5

Another thing I'm looking forward to doing is the roughness/metallic maps. Also in UE4, I can implement glow masks for the gems, and have all the eyeballs on the wings track npc movement.

(Stephomi) #6

Looks promising!