Would appreciate some tips as after a week of trying photogrammetry, I have 0 results

Hey guys,

I am new to photogrammetry and using a samsung S8+ with the Snap Camera app to do some basic photogrammetry, I am trying to scan a beam of wood, its about 15cm x 15cm x 60cm and im having pretty big issues with it.

I need all 6 sides to make the asset usable fyi.

I have scanned it in 5 environments already to try and get even and enough light as some of the earlier attempts didnt have optimal lighting, I have been making sure there is no blur in the images and the ISO and shutter speed is good. Unfortunately, no matter what I do, I get the same issue. Each of the long 4 sides roughly matches up, as I am taking photos of each corner side too, but the end ‘caps’ just never work, they either line up properly and dont texture, or dont line up at all, Ive tried to get sort of an ‘arcing’ coverage from the side down below to try and help my apps realise that the bottom is indeed attached to the sides, but it just never works.

I have the beam hanging from a nail to ensure I can get all 6 faces, and the beam is not moving when I am doing the photogrammetry.

I have also tried control points but again, same issue, it just wont have it.

Ive tried reality capture, meshroom and agisofts photogrammetry software, and I get varying results but all are sub optimal.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can do this, because I cant progress any more.

Thank you in advance for any help.

Hmm, maybe it has to do with the camera calibration of your phone, in the photogrammetry software. Or maybe the photo taking strategy is wrong. Can you make your best photoset available, maybe i can see some obvious errors.

1 Like

Hi @Hambo - welcome to the forum!

As @cie says, sharing some of your image data (ideally the whole set) via flickr or something would be useful in helping diagnose the issues.